Violence against Children

The Guido Fluri Foundation is committed to helping disadvantaged and traumatised children. Thanks to a number of special projects it has initiated around this issue, the Foundation makes ongoing efforts to help prevent abuse and to raise awareness about the issue in public.

Facts and figures

Just over two years passed between the launch of the reparations initiative and the adoption of the counter-proposal – a record in Swiss politics.

In the space of four years, more than 1,500 people visited the Mümliswil-Verdingkinder Memorial Children’s Home.

The KESCHA advisory service dealt with more than a thousand cases in its first year (2017).

Reparations Initiative

Until well into the 20th century, children were auctioned off in Swiss village squares, forced into child labour, mistreated and abused. Many of these former so-called Verdingkinder are still alive today. They have experienced grave injustices. The immense suffering of these victims continues even today.

Guido Fluri mit ehemaligen Verding- und Heimkindern auf dem Bundesplatz in Bern

That is why the Guido Fluri Foundation successfully launched the reparations initiative in 2014. The Foundation demanded:

1. Financial reparations for Verdingkinder and victims of compulsory social measures in the care system
2. A scientific reappraisal of this dark chapter in Swiss history
3. A fund of 500 million Swiss francs to be reserved for compensating severely affected victims
4. Each case to be examined individually by an independent commission.

Guido Fluri mit Betroffenen auf dem Bundesplatz in Bern anlässlich der Einreichung der Unterschriften

After the initiative was submitted, the Federal Council submitted a counter-proposal for consultation, which was approved by the National Council and the Council of States in 2016. The initiators then withdrew the initiative and brought their request to a successful conclusion. The “Federal Act on Compulsory Social Measures and Placements Prior to 1981” has been in force in Switzerland since January 2017.

Freude nach der Annahme des Gegenvorschlags

Image: Keystone

www.wiedergutmachungsinitiative.ch

KESCHA

The new Child and Adult Protection Act has been in force since 2013. Although the first nationwide statistics show that the number of protection measures for adults and children has tended to decrease since the introduction of the Child and Adult Protection Authority (CAPA), there is a degree of public distrust of the CAPA in some quarters. This lack of trust makes it more challenging for people to cooperate with the CAPA, which has a legal safeguarding mandate.

Against this backdrop, the Guido Fluri Foundation established the KESCHA advisory service in cooperation with six influential child and adult protection organisations. In the event of a conflict, the advisory service goes to the aid of those involved who are experiencing difficult life circumstances. The aim is to prevent escalations and to present a range of perspectives to those involved, so that communication with the authorities can be restored.

Kescha

www.kescha.ch

Justice Initiative

For the first time ever, the “Justice Initiative” facilitates comprehensive, pan-European tackling of child abuse, especially instances that have taken place in state and church institutions.

Logo der Justice Initiative

The initiative is supported by victims’ groups, academics and NGOs from all over Europe. In a joint declaration, public recognition of the injustice, reparations and scientific reappraisal take centre stage.

In coming to terms with the past, it is hoped that child protection in Europe will be strengthened for the future.

www.justice-initiative.eu

Video: The journalist António Assis Teixeira from CNN Portugal traveled to Switzerland to meet the man behind the Justice Initiative. The result is a very personal report about Guido Fluri's commitment.

Caregivers

The canton of Bern has more Verdingkinder and other victims of compulsory social measures than any other canton in Switzerland. Against this backdrop, the Guido Fluri Foundation and Pro Senectute Canton Bern launched the “Caregivers” pilot project in January 2022. Individuals who have been personally affected by such circumstances are given special training to empathetically support other victims in their everyday lives – either in person or via the Internet. The Caregivers are also designated contacts for retirement and nursing homes, where they provide training to the nursing and care staff. The pilot project is supported by the Federal Office of Justice.

Logo des Projekts Caregivers

Those for whom the initiative is relevant can call 031 924 11 56 or visit the website. There is also a chat service through which people can express their concerns or ask questions. This chat is also supported by a person who was affected by compulsory social measures and has worked for many years as a psychologist and trauma therapist.

www.caregivers.ch

First national memorial for Verdingkinder and victims of abuse in children’s homes

In 2011, the Guido Fluri Foundation acquired the former Mümliswil children’s home, which is now a listed building. It was carefully renovated and opened to the public in May 2013 as a memorial for Verdingkinder and former residents of children’s homes. The house is a place of remembrance and hope. It serves to educate the public on this important issue and encourage communication between the generations.

Aussenansicht der Nationalen Gedenkstätte in Mümliswil

Curator Markus Schürpf has skilfully combined the pictures and documents collected by Dr. Thomas Huonker’s in his extensive historical research, resulting in a compelling and poignant exhibition that sheds light on the experience of institutionalised children and the so-called Verdingkinder who were subjected to child indentured servitude. Excursions, camps and workshops offer unique opportunities for school classes, groups and private individuals to visit the exhibition free of charge, immersing themselves in the original, historic surroundings. This fosters deeper understanding as visitors actively engage with the subject matter. Through this ambitious project, the Guido Fluri Foundation is endeavouring to ensure that the plight and history of the Verdingkinder, institutionalised children, and children subjected to indentured servitude are remembered and honoured in perpetuity.

Die Ausstellung in der Nationalen Gedenkstätte in Mümliswil

Ein erhaltenes Zimmer in der Gedenkstätte

www.gedenkstaette-muemliswil.ch

clickandstop.ch

The platform clickandstop.ch is the online reporting centre against sexual violence against children and young people. It offers children, young people and parents who have been affected by abuse, as well as professionals and teachers, an easy way to report websites with criminal, paedophilic content. In just a few clicks, individuals can anonymously fill out the reporting form without the need to provide their email address, ensuring a user-friendly and easily accessible process. In addition, the hub offers comprehensive counselling services as well as specific prevention programmes. The new reporting hub closes an existing gap in Switzerland in the fight against paedophilia on the Internet.

Online-Meldestelle gegen sexuelle Gewalt an Kindern clickandstop.ch

Sexual violence against children and young people takes place everywhere and affects children of all ages. It is therefore of the utmost importance for children and young people to be bolstered against such crimes, and for protective and preventive measures to be provided. Through increased reporting, deletion and prosecutions, the vast amounts of paedophilic material currently online can be effectively curbed.

www.clickandstop.ch

Data protection notice

This website uses cookies to support user-friendliness and to optimise content.
Data protection information

Necessary cookies are always loaded

Gewalt an Kindern

Die Guido Fluri Stiftung setzt sich für benach­teiligte und trauma­tisierte Kinder ein. Mit eigens initiierten Projekten leistet die Stiftung einen nach­haltigen Beitrag, um Missstände verhindern zu helfen sowie das Thema in der Öffentlichkeit zu verbreiten.

Zahlen und Fakten

Nur etwas mehr als zwei Jahre vergingen zwischen dem Start der Wieder­gut­machungs­initiative und der Annahme des Gegenvorschlags – ein Rekord in der schweizerischen Politik.

Innerhalb von vier Jahren haben über 1‘500 Personen die Nationale Gedenkstätte für Heim- und Verdingkinder besucht.

Mehr als 1‘000 Fälle hat die Anlaufstelle KESCHA in ihrem ersten Jahr (2017) behandelt.

Wieder­gutmachungs­initiative

Bis weit in das 20. Jahrhundert wurden Kinder auf Schweizer Dorfplätzen versteigert, zur Kinderarbeit gezwun­gen, misshandelt und missbraucht. Noch heute leben viele dieser ehemaligen Verding­kinder unter uns. Sie haben schwerstes Unrecht erlitten. Das immense Leid der Betroffenen dauert an – bis heute.

Guido Fluri mit ehemaligen Verding- und Heimkindern auf dem Bundesplatz in Bern

Darum lancierte die Guido Fluri Stiftung im Jahr 2014 erfolgreich die Wieder­gut­machungs­initiative. Sie forderte:

1. Eine finanzielle Wiedergutmachung für Verdingkinder und Opfer fürsorger­ischer Zwangsmassnahmen
2. Eine wissenschaftliche Aufarbeitung dieses dunklen Kapitels der Schweizer Geschichte
3. Einen Fonds über 500 Millionen Franken – nur schwer betroffene Opfer erhalten daraus eine Wiedergut­machung
4. Eine unabhängige Kommission prüft jeden Fall einzeln

Guido Fluri mit Betroffenen auf dem Bundesplatz in Bern anlässlich der Einreichung der Unterschriften

Nach Einreichen der Initiative brachte der Bundesrat einen Gegenvorschlag zur Vernehmlassung, der im Jahr 2016 von National- und Ständerat gutge­heissen wurde. Die Initianten zogen daraufhin die Initiative zurück und brachten ihr Anliegen zu einem erfolgreichen Abschluss. Seit Januar 2017 ist das «Bundesgesetz über die Aufarbeitung der fürsorgerischen Zwangs­massnahmen und Fremd­platzierungen vor 1981» in Kraft.

Freude nach der Annahme des Gegenvorschlags

Bild: Keystone

www.wiedergutmachungsinitiative.ch

KESCHA

Das neue Kindes- und Erwachsenen­schutzrecht ist seit 2013 in Kraft. Obgleich die erste gesamt­schweizerische Statistik zeigt, dass die Anzahl Schutz­massnahmen bei Erwachsenen und Kindern seit der Einführung der KESB tendenziell abgenommen hat, gibt es in Teilen der Bevölkerung ein Misstrauen gegenüber der KESB. Dieses Misstrauen erschwert die Zusammenarbeit mit der KESB, die einen gesetzlichen Schutzauftrag hat.

Vor diesem Hintergrund baute die Guido Fluri Stiftung, in Zusammen­arbeit mit sechs starken Organisationen des Kindes- und Erwachsenen­schutzes, die Anlaufstelle KESCHA auf. Die Anlaufstelle soll bei Konflikten die Betroffenen in schwierigen Lebens­situationen abholen und Unterstützung bieten. Es geht darum, Eskalationen zu verhindern und den Betroffenen Perspektiven aufzuzeigen, sodass die Kommunikation mit den Behörden wiederhergestellt werden kann.

Kescha

www.kescha.ch

Justice Initiative

Mit der «Justice Initiative» soll erstmals in allen Ländern Europas der Missbrauch an Kindern, wie er insbesondere auch in staatlichen und kirchlichen Institutionen stattgefunden hat, umfassend aufgearbeitet werden.

Logo der Justice Initiative

Die Initiative wird von Opfergruppen, Akademiker:innen und NGOs aus allen Teilen Europas unterstützt. In einer gemeinsamen Erklärung wird die öffentliche Anerkennung des Unrechts, die Wiedergutmachung sowie die wissenschaftliche Aufarbeitung ins Zentrum gerückt.

Durch die Aufarbeitung der Vergangenheit soll der Kinderschutz in Europa langfristig gestärkt werden.

www.justice-initiative.eu

Caregivers

In keinem anderen Kanton wie Bern gibt es mehr Verdingkinder und andere Opfer von fürsorgerischen Zwangsmassnahmen. Vor diesem Hintergrund haben die Guido Fluri Stiftung und Pro Senectute Kanton Bern im Januar 2022 das Pilotprojekt «Caregivers» gestartet. Speziell ausgebildete Betroffene begleiten und unterstützen dabei andere Betroffene im Alltag – vor Ort oder virtuell im Netz. Caregiver sind auch Ansprechpartnerinnen und Ansprechpartner für Alters- und Pflegeheime und schulen dort die Pflegenden. Das Pilotprojekt wird vom Bundesamt für Justiz unterstützt.

Logo des Projekts Caregivers

Betroffene können sich telefonisch unter 031 924 11 56 oder auf der Webseite melden. Dort gibt es auch einen Chat, bei dem Betroffene ihre Anliegen anbringen können. Bedient wird dieser Chat ebenfalls von einer Betroffenen, die jahrelang als Psychologin und Trauma-Therapeutin gearbeitet hat.

www.caregivers.ch

Erste Nationale Gedenkstätte für Heim- und Verdingkinder

Die Guido Fluri Stiftung erwarb 2011 das ehemalige Kinderheim Mümliswil, das heute unter Denkmal­schutz steht. Es wurde schonend renoviert und im Mai 2013 als Gedenk­stätte für die ehemaligen Heim- und Verdingkinder der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht. Das Haus stellt einen Ort der Erinnerung und Hoffnung dar und dient der Aufklärung sowie dem Austausch zwischen den Generationen.

Aussenansicht der Nationalen Gedenkstätte in Mümliswil

Gestützt auf die historische Aufarbeitung durch Dr. Thomas Huonker hat Kurator Markus Schürpf die gesammelten Bilder und Dokumente zu einer bewegenden Ausstellung vereint. Sie macht die Situation der damaligen Heim- und Verdingkinder sicht- und nachvollziehbar. Schulklassen, Gruppen und Privatpersonen erhalten kostenlos die Möglichkeit, die Ausstellung im Rahmen von Ausflügen, Lagerwochen oder Workshops zu besuchen und sich in originaler Umgebung mit der Thematik zu befassen. Mit dem aufwändigen Projekt setzt sich die Guido Fluri Stiftung dafür ein, dass das Schicksal und die Geschichte der Heim- und Verdingkinder nicht in Vergessenheit geraten.

Die Ausstellung in der Nationalen Gedenkstätte in Mümliswil

Ein erhaltenes Zimmer in der Gedenkstätte

www.gedenkstaette-muemliswil.ch

clickandstop.ch

clickandstop.ch ist die Online-Meldestelle gegen sexuelle Gewalt an Kindern und Jugendlichen. Betroffene, Kinder, Jugendliche und Eltern, aber auch Fach- und Lehrpersonen können Webseiten mit pädokriminellen Inhalten einfach melden. Mit wenigen Klicks ist die Meldemaske ausgefüllt, anonym und ohne Angabe der E-Mail-Adresse, wodurch die Niederschwelligkeit gewährleistet wird. Darüber hinaus bietet die Meldestelle auch umfassende Beratungsangebote sowie spezifische Präventionsprogramme. Die neue Meldestelle schliesst in der Schweiz eine bestehende Lücke im Kampf gegen Pädokriminalität im Netz.

Online-Meldestelle gegen sexuelle Gewalt an Kindern clickandstop.ch

Sexuelle Gewalt an Kindern und Jugendlichen geschieht überall und betrifft Kinder jeder Altersstufe. Es ist deshalb von hoher Notwendigkeit, Kinder und Jugendliche systematisch zu stärken und Präventionsangebote bereitzustellen. Die Unmengen an pädokriminellem Material können mit einer Erhöhung der Meldezahlen, der Löschungen und der Strafverfolgungen wirksam eingedämmt werden.

www.clickandstop.ch

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Datenschutz